back on track
| <<-- : 09.02.04 : -->> |

2:51 p.m.

last night, my feature writing professor asked me if he could use my article in class as an example. i was a little shocked and would be embarassed if the rest of the class saw it. it wasn't really my best writing and i didn't want to give myself off as a phony. but he said it was great and that he wouldn't use my name. when he presented it, he told the class that it was really good writing. of course, he tore it up and revealed all the mistakes i did. but at the same time, he praised my work.

it was funny because when i went to class that night, i was re-thinking my revived motivation for pursuing journalism as a career. i wasn't sure if i was a good enough writer as everyone else in class. i wasn't sure if i was prepared to face the world after college as a freelance writer before ever being considered to be staff for a magazine or paper. it started to scare me. then my professor pops in and gives my ego a bit of a jump start.

i stayed humble and was glad he didn't point me out to the rest of the class. although, a part of me wished he did. i had told him that it didn't matter if he did or not, but i don't think he heard me. i was just flattered that my article didn't totally suck. it was what i needed to put myself back on track.

| <<-- : : -->> |
top


cyclists - 04.06.07
reader update - 04.04.07
read me - 03.29.07
easter sunday - 03.26.07
shutdown day - 03.23.07

� 2006 by Anthony B. Riva
All Rights Reserved.