ash wednesday
| <<-- : 03.05.03 : -->> |

8:35 a.m.

so today is ash wednesday. typically, as a catholic, i would go to church this evening and get an ash cross smeared on my forehead. symbolizing... well i never really found out what that was. now i gotta go look it up. damn. oh well, maybe later.

but i haven't really been a practicing catholic in awhile. i hold my own beliefs. about life and religion, and how religion should be. on what i was taught growing up. about what i've seen myself and what i've come to believe. but one thing's for sure, ash wednesday usually begins lent. for forty days you would give up something. a sacrifice to represent jesus' forty days in the desert. or something like that. i usually use this time to start cleaning up my eating habits. in high school, i would give up red meat one year, red meat and white meat another, and the year after that, all meat all together. and since then i've been completely turned off to red meat and my love for seafood grew even more so than it was. i enjoy eating greens now and i've even begun to be a little creative with my choice of food.

but, last year, i seemed to miss lent completely. i was caught up in life and i just didn't think it was that important to me as it was. and since, my eating habits have slowly fell down this downward spiral. i've eaten red meat a couple times in these recent months. i've been back to guzzling down soda like water and don't get me started on the sweets. i haven't been really good to my body. i even stopped working out.

so this year, i'm back on track. for the next forty days, i'm going to not eat meat of any kind. i'm going vegetarian. although, occasionally i'll have fish and seafood. i'm kicking the soda habit. no more of that. i'm going to have to find an alternative source for caffiene and energy. i'll try to drink tea more than coffee, but i'm not kicking the coffee habit this year. that'll be a bit more tough. and no chocolate.

so here it is:

- no red meat, no pork

- no chicken

- no sodas, carbonated drinks (red bull included, beer excluded)

- no chocolate

wish me luck.

| <<-- : : -->> |
top


cyclists - 04.06.07
reader update - 04.04.07
read me - 03.29.07
easter sunday - 03.26.07
shutdown day - 03.23.07

� 2006 by Anthony B. Riva
All Rights Reserved.