burn
| <<-- : 07.16.03 : -->> |

10:43 a.m.

right now i'm reading hermann hesse's Demian. very good. i've just read this one part where demian breaks down the story of cain and able from the bible and comments on how he thinks the interpretations may not be so literal and how it could be about something else than what we are taught to believe. (i hope that made sense.) and it's very interesting how it kind of coincides with what i've always believed about the bible and how it's interpretation has always been subject of question for me.

i'm very excited about burning man. i've decided to go. davemarr sent me a very moving and convincing email after he read my post about not going. he means a lot to me and i always take what he has to say to heart. sometimes what he has to say can hurt a little, but he always hits it right on the money. he knows his shit and i know he just wants the best for me.

so these past couple of days i've been trying to get actively involved with the camps. i've asked to take on a project. so now i'm working on creating 15 signs that will be posted up on the walkway inside the village. these will list the events that will take place and when they will occur. i am really excited about this. i have an opportunity to be creative and see my work posted on the playa. it's always a great feeling to see something that i've done, even if it's just a sign, that i can walk by and think to myself, "wow, i did that!"

i would also like to find some way to get up to SF during a weekend before burning man. there's a lot that's going on up there that i can't be a part of. and plus it's SF! i love it up there. and i really want to do as much as i can to show that i'm really committed to this. plus it's fun!

oh yeah, i've brought it up with my supervisor that i'm going to need the time off, and she said she'd find out. i had to tell her that my dad wants us to visit our great grandmother in oklahoma that week. i couldn't get myself to tell her the truth. but i don't think it would've mattered anyway. i just couldn't risk her not giving me the time off. we (me and my brother) are actually going to visit my dad in illinois and drive out to olklahoma in the second weekend of august, so i just created a story based on that. i told her that i needed the time off to see my dad in seattle that weekend and then again in the last week of august to see my great grandmother in oklahoma because my dad is visiting the states from guam (which is true.) i don't know why i have to create these stories, but the good news is that it's not a big surprise anymore that i'll be gone for that many days next month.

| <<-- : : -->> |
top


cyclists - 04.06.07
reader update - 04.04.07
read me - 03.29.07
easter sunday - 03.26.07
shutdown day - 03.23.07

� 2006 by Anthony B. Riva
All Rights Reserved.