please sir
| <<-- : 03.20.03 : -->> |

9:06 a.m.

i've been typing something... then erasing it... then typing something again... then going back and starting over. trying desperately to write something about this war.

for some reason, i feel like i am required to say something about what's going on. like i have to do this. it's expected of me.

but it's not. this is my diary and i'll choose what i want to say and what not to say, goddamnit!

.....

in other news, the wedding has been postponed. scott (the groom), who's in the marines, isn't coming home on time as planned. which is what we've been hoping not to happen throughout all the planning. it was expected, but it's still disappointing.

i think this war is just a reflection of america's crumbling image, despite bush's intentions of changing that. i do not side with him. i'm sorry to say so. but, it scares me how unecessary this is.

but, i do have friends and family out there. my dad is in guam. he's part of the merchant marines. scott is out in the marines. a couple people i knew from high school are out there. and simon may be called back.

i don't know what's to come. i'm kind of nervous and scared. will life out here go unchanged on the surface? not that things are the same right now. protests and violent acts have already erupted. but what about bomb threats? what about attacks? what does this mean for us? are those of us who aren't enlisted are going to get called in? how bad is it going to get?

.....

okay. no more. i don't want to ramble and go into this. i don't know why, but when it comes to politics, i always hold back. i just can't go into it. i become passive all of a sudden. i'll read about it and shake my head in disgust. but, when it comes to voicing my opinion, nothing comes out. it's like i try to speak, but i can't get my vocal chords to work. the thoughts in my head can't form into one coherant thought. it's frustrating.

and i wonder if it has to do with my lack of political direction, or the fact that i'm currently not in school. it's been a VERY long time since i've had to do any sort of debate or speech. i haven't exercised those skills since high school. and i think i'm starting to feel the effects of laziness, now that all of this is happening. i guess, just another reason to get back into school.

i don't want to get into politics as a career or anything, i just want to be able to communicate my thoughts and participate in intelligent and interesting discussions. i just don't fully understand what's behind this "mental block."

.....

Please sir tell me why
there's no black Superman?
KKK kryptonite?
"God only makes
caucasian super-heroes."
Please sir tell me why
we stick a man on the moon
when life on earth's so cheap?
"Son we gotta do our bit
for the world trade deficit."

Please sir,
please sir,
tell me why,
if 'God is love'
I'm so dysfunctional?

Please sir tell me why
there's so much vagrancy?
"Layabouts get a job"
Well there's an opening
for a part time Unabomber.
Please sir tell me why
my life's so pitiful
but the future's so bright?
Well I'd look ahead but
it burns my retinas.

Please sir,
please sir,
tell me why,
if 'God is love'
I'm so dysfunctional?

-Pitchshifter, Please Sir


.....

much thanks to adam.exe and his mp3 page for that track.

| <<-- : : -->> |
top


cyclists - 04.06.07
reader update - 04.04.07
read me - 03.29.07
easter sunday - 03.26.07
shutdown day - 03.23.07

� 2006 by Anthony B. Riva
All Rights Reserved.