from poetry to music
| <<-- : 05.21.03 : -->> |

2:41 p.m.

Jade wrote:

> Hey :) This is my first time on friendster, its actually

> pretty kewl, and definately unique.... anyway, your

> profile caught my eye bc like you im ecletic as well, i

> love ALL types on music. I was hoping you could share

> some knowledge ab songwriting with me. I'm a singer

> and im trying to turn my poetry into songs.... i have no

> clue how to do this! Any suggestions? -jade

hey jade!

it's definitely cool to hear from you. i'm loving this thing, too. it's pretty addicting. but my expertise isn't really all that great in songwriting. i do it, because i love it. and i do it because it's a great way to express emotions, and i can be pretty emotional sometimes. hehe. anyway, i just like to experiment.

i've written one song that was from a poem of mine. and i've used parts of some other poems that i've written in parts of other songs.

what i usually do is start out by writing the music. i'd mess around on the guitar until i come up with something i like. and sometimes, the lyrics will follow. (i'll roughly make something up so that i can sing something along with the tune.) and if one of my poems will fit, then i'll "borrow" from it to form lyrics. what i did with that one song was borrow the poem for the verses. but i had to re-write a lot of it. the rhythm of my original poem didn't match the song. but, it's basically the same. i also had to create a chorus for it. the end result became something completely different than the poem. so the two became their own entities.

i still like that song, because the form is different. it still has that prose quality, but adjusted to be sung with what i wrote on the guitar.

i hope that helps. no one ever really asks me about my music too much. i never realized how much i've learned or how much i love it until i actually talked about it. thank you so much for helping me realize that!

we should add each other as friends. i'd like to continue this conversation. my email address is [email protected], if you choose to add me! take care, and good luck!

anthony

| <<-- : : -->> |
top


cyclists - 04.06.07
reader update - 04.04.07
read me - 03.29.07
easter sunday - 03.26.07
shutdown day - 03.23.07

� 2006 by Anthony B. Riva
All Rights Reserved.