blacked out
| <<-- : 12.25.03 : -->> |

10:10 a.m.

the blackout threw me off.

i spent the past five days working in a ham factory. (read: honey baked ham retail store.) it was the temp job. i worked in the back office doing crap data entry work. (read: counting register reciepts and gift certificates.) i don't think i ever want to smell another ham for a long time.

my dad arrived in town on sunday. we hung out and got drunk with his sailor buddies. the next day, i had dinner with him. i presented the idea of him helping me out so that i could go to school full time. he said we'll talk about it.

last night, i spent christmas eve with my dad for the first time since he left my mom. i think it was the first time in 10 years. we ordered a pizza and watched a movie in his room until he fell asleep. it wasn't the most festive. but i think he just wanted some company. this morning i brought up the school thing again. he said that i should figure out how much my income is going to be and how much i'll need for school and i'm pretty sure all i have to do is just come up with a sum of money that i'll need each month. so it looks like i'm going to school next semester. i've decided i want to study architecture.

starbucks called me last night and i got the job. i start next week.

i didn't think i would be opening christmas presents on christmas morning this year, but to my surprise, there was a package at my door this morning. it was from the lovely and wonderful jonathan29. he got me the new X2 dvd! i'm so stoked! he's such a sweetheart, i wish i was in a position to send him something back. but with my new job and ambition, there will be a time for that very soon.

and i've been pretty davesick all weekend. i've been hurting pretty bad, but the events of this week have lessened it. i've decided that i'm going to take an active role in getting to know the people here. i want to spend time with these new potential friends and i want them to know me. i've been so caught up in myself that i didn't realize i wasn't opening up. it's time to cherish the love and friendship that dave has for me and accept it for what it is. and time to move on to building new friendships and patching up my current ones.

i've been reading a lot of the dharma punx and it has calmed me a lot. it's inspired me to meditate more. so i've been practicing a lot of mindful breathing. i guess i don't really have any real reason to hurt so much. so why the pain? if i forget the self, i'll be fine.

| <<-- : : -->> |
top


cyclists - 04.06.07
reader update - 04.04.07
read me - 03.29.07
easter sunday - 03.26.07
shutdown day - 03.23.07

� 2006 by Anthony B. Riva
All Rights Reserved.