day dream
| <<-- : 06.17.03 : -->> |

12:32 p.m.

i'm sitting at my desk, staring at my computer monitor. but, i'm not actually looking at the screen. i'm staring at the reflection, looking through the window that is actually behind me.

i see the trees sway back and forth. the breeze is strong. then i dream of an apartment, a place of my own. it's part of a building that sits on a hill that falls in line with other buildings. trees line the entire sidewalk, every couple of feet or so. the sky is blue, the sun is out, and the wind sways the trees.

below my apartment is a market. people sit around outside and children play in the streets. cars pass by frequently and you can hear them scatter. i go down to the market to buy a six-pack or a loaf of bread, the man behind the counter knows me and asks me how my day is going. i smile at the beggar who sits outside the door, he's always around on tuesdays, he's nice. i know he has a story to tell, but he's not ready to tell it just yet.

i run back up the stairs and as i pass my neighbor's door, i can hear yelling and a slap. then it quiets down. it's nothing unusual, so i continue through my door. the tv's on, but i turn the volume down. i put my beer in the fridge or the bread on the counter, and i sit on the couch. i grab a pillow and i curl up. as soon as my head is down, my cat pisces jumps up onto my legs and walks up my side. she sniffs at my ear and then licks my cheek. i pull her down in front of me and hug her like a stuffed animal. the phone rings and it startles her. she jumps off the couch and sits on the carpet looking at me.

i answer the phone and it's

| <<-- : : -->> |
top


cyclists - 04.06.07
reader update - 04.04.07
read me - 03.29.07
easter sunday - 03.26.07
shutdown day - 03.23.07

� 2006 by Anthony B. Riva
All Rights Reserved.