impermanence
| <<-- : 12.04.03 : -->> |

10:06 a.m.

last night i went to urban dharma with davemarr. but before i was to meet him there, i decided to take a walk up van ness to see what was around me. i found lots of stores, another walgreens, a couple movie theaters, and a 24 hour fitness. i upgraded my membership so i could start going to the gym again. i'm still a little sick, although i feel better today. my through seems so raw from all my smoking. or maybe it's cuz i have a sore throat, or the combination of the two, i'm not quite sure.

but it's nice to know that there are few restaurants close by my place. and hayes valley isn't far, with all the shops and coffee places. i was so used to dave's area and where he lives. i really like the castro and the haight. but it's just kind of a walk for me to keep going there from where i live. so yesterday i kind of discovered my own neighborhood. and yet there are still a ton more places for me to discover.

last night's urban dharma was pretty cool. i got to meditate correctly for the first time in a long time. i loved our meditations in our yoga sessions. so getting back into that should be cool. i need to check out yoga sessions for 24 hour sometime soon. i really need to get into shape, mind and body.

but last night i learned all about impermanence. nothing's permanent. change is constant. change is always happening. and by accepting that with love and kindness, i'm able to deal with what life throws my way, whether it's pleasure or pain. and this is a truth i have always known. i just don't see it in times of pain. but lately, i've been noticing that my pain is temporary. that if i wait it out, and observe it's course, that it ends and it is usually followed by some pleasure in life.

i need to shower. i need to wake up and get going somewhere. i need to turn in my application for FedEx today. wish me luck.



| <<-- : : -->> |
top


cyclists - 04.06.07
reader update - 04.04.07
read me - 03.29.07
easter sunday - 03.26.07
shutdown day - 03.23.07

� 2006 by Anthony B. Riva
All Rights Reserved.