Out of the Races and On to the Tracks
| <<-- : 01.30.04 : -->> |

3:41 p.m.

work has been really tough all week. but i took it everyday with a smile on my face. it seems that even though people can be mean and condescending when they want their coffee, having a smile on your face can give you the upper hand. i'm re-learning my patience with customers. i had forgotten how rude some people could be, and i would let it get to me. but this week, i decided that i wasn't going to. i was going to be happy and treat each customer with patience and kindness. and you know what? i think i've shocked a few people.

lately, i've been conversating with strangers. there's so many people here in this city, that it can't be helped. i've made some light conversation with people needing directions or a lighter or wanting to know where the closest place to buy cigarettes is. and sometimes, we'll just stand at the bus stop waiting and the other person would comment on the weather. i'm not really used to that. i usually like to keep to myself and head off to my destination in a straight line. but living here has begun to change that.

my life is pretty hectic. it's a constant road from work to home to school to work to home to sleep. i barely find time to eat in between, but i manage. if i don't eat, i get cranky. and since working at starbucks, coffee has become an essential ingredient in my ability to stay focused in class. i find that if i have a cup before psych, i'm taking much better notes. (psych is my first class at 8am.)

on tuesday, i have my first mini class presentation for US history on the salem witch trials. thursday is my first psych test and my video summary for cultural anthro is due. and it may or may not sound like alot, but it's gotten me pretty excited. i've been a little stressed, but it's the good kind of stress which i know is actually working towards a goal. towards movement in my life. it's making me stretch muscles i forgot i had. it makes me sleep nicely at the end of the day.

i'm doing all that i had imagined i'd be doing here in the city. i'm on the path i set for myself when i moved here. it is so strange to actually have followed through with pretty much all of the goals i had decided earlier on.

i have truly amazed myself. i never really believed i was capable of this. i knew, but i just never really believed it.

life is a strange and wonderful thing.

| <<-- : : -->> |
top


cyclists - 04.06.07
reader update - 04.04.07
read me - 03.29.07
easter sunday - 03.26.07
shutdown day - 03.23.07

� 2006 by Anthony B. Riva
All Rights Reserved.