the makings of a rockstar
| <<-- : 10.20.03 : -->> |

4:01 p.m.

last week, i've written two new songs. i'm actually really happy with how they came out. lately, i've felt like i've lost a lot of my inspiration to write. mostly, it had to do with my guitar being in the pawn shop. but ever since i've gotten it back, i've been playing non-stop every night after work. it seems like i've been getting bored with television lately. so i'd go to my room and jam on my guitar. i'd mostly play stuff i've already written. it seems like i'm finding new ways to play my old songs. and i'm getting better at it. (practice makes perfect, right?)

i would sit. play random chords. something will hit me, and i'll like it. i'll repeat it. over and over until my fingers start to hurt. then i'd hum, because i could hear the words. i just can't figure out what they're saying exactly. but i know what they are. i know how the sound. so i sound it out until i come up with something. something really lame and cheesey. just something to fill those sounds i hear in my head and in the strings. then i'd write down what i'm singing.

i take those words, and i write something else that fits the pattern. then i create verses. usually, one of the verses, or the first verse sticks out more than the others. i take that and i make it the chorus. i re-write it to fit the chorus i've written on the guitar. or vice-versa. i went through a couple versions of the songs i've written.

anyway, i'm pretty happy to have come up with new material. i want to perform one last time before i leave. it would be really nice. i always play in my room as if i'm performing in front of people. i imagine people in front of me. i try and picture if they can hear my voice over my guitar. and i adjust accordingly. i really think i'm getting better. i really feel like i'm developing my own style. something great. it's kind of folky. a little bit country. i can't help it. it's the easiest to write. i think i'll call it blues-funk-mellow-emo crap. how's that?

i also need to work on getting my songs onto the laptop in mp3 format so i can burn them onto a CD before i leave. i wouldn't mind having something for people to listen to. maybe upload files onto my site. post some lyrics. pretend like i'm a full-on rockstar. that would be awesome.

| <<-- : : -->> |
top


cyclists - 04.06.07
reader update - 04.04.07
read me - 03.29.07
easter sunday - 03.26.07
shutdown day - 03.23.07

� 2006 by Anthony B. Riva
All Rights Reserved.