school woes
| <<-- : 01.05.04 : -->> |

2:03 p.m.

anger: with myself for waiting and hesitating too long to sign up for school.

frustration: with the long lines at the admissions office. my counselor repeating herself asking me repeatedly if i wanted to be a full time student or if have taken my placement tests. every other question, it seemed, she asked, "so have you decided if you wanted to be a full time student?" to which i patiently replied, "yes." the girl at the placement test center didn't know anything about placement tests and kept consulting some fat guy in the back who didn't bother to get up off his seat to help me directly. he didn't look too busy and we continued the discussion loudly across the room as i stood at the little window in the doorway.

fear: that i won't get into any classes or i won't get my transcripts in time. i will have to go back to finding a job that i do not enjoy and work full time to make ends meet.

resolve: anger is unecessary. i take full responsibility for my actions and i should not be angry. nothing good comes from anger. so i breathe and relax. i read the class schedule and in no time i'm first in line. the lady was kind and helpful and i turned in my signature page. she directed me upstairs to counseling and matriculation. i kept my patience with the counselor. she kept forgetting the questions she asked, and kept repeating herself. i felt sorry for her. but we soon found out that there isn't anything she could do unless i had my transcripts or had taken the placement tests. i didn't want to take the placements tests if it was possible to get my transcripts from the school. so we went over to the placement test office. there, this meek asian girl couldn't understand a word i was saying, it seemed. i think i was nervous a bit and i spoke too fast. but even when she understood the words, she didn't know how to help me. so she relayed the issues to someone else and would walk back to me with some form of an answer which had nothing to do with what i asked. we went through this a few times before the guy just started to talking to me from his seat. he also didn't understand that i had AP test scores and said that they wouldn't accept them anyway. but a lady overheard and stepped out to talk to me. she said that if i can get my transcripts from cypress college stating that i turned in those AP test scores from high school, that i can fax them to the school and they'll accept them. so i got the number and proceeded to call cypress. from there, i couldn't get a hold of anyone. i called the main line and it led me to an answering machine which led me to another number. the number led me to an annoyed woman who said that she can't assist me with anything regarding transcripts, so she gave me a number to the direct admissions and records line. which was busy. and when it would ring, it would ring on and on without anyone picking up. so i called the first main line and finally got to an answering machine in the other transcript directories. i left a message and got a return call. it turns out that my old friend from my cychron newspaper days now works in the transcript office. andrea is her name. when i was going to cypress, she was working in the financial aid office. she was always cool with me and helped me out with anything i needed. and now she's in the one part of cypress college that i needed to deal with! she totally remembered me and left a really cool message. i'm so glad that i'm not talking to a faceless person on the other end. it's really cool to hear a familiar voice when i'm so far away. so i'm pretty much all set for school. i just need to get my transcripts over to CCSF as soon as possible. then on the first days of class, i'll start the ADD process.

so tired now. i think i'm gonna cocoon it tonight and read LOTR.

| <<-- : : -->> |
top


cyclists - 04.06.07
reader update - 04.04.07
read me - 03.29.07
easter sunday - 03.26.07
shutdown day - 03.23.07

� 2006 by Anthony B. Riva
All Rights Reserved.